Today: Apr 02 , 2020

Teacher Education Scholarships Available to Qualified Applicants

03 February 2012   Katie Granger

Education Scholarship Endowment of Yavapai County is seeking qualified applicants for teacher education scholarships

PRESCOTT -- Yavapai County residents interested in pursuing education degrees are eligible to apply for $1,500 scholarships from the Education Scholarship Endowment of Yavapai County. The announcement came from the ESEYC board of directors following its January 21st annual meeting.

Eligibility criteria specify that applicants must be graduates from an accredited public high school in Yavapai County or have resided in Yavapai County for no less than three years. Further, applicants must have no less than a 3.0 high school or college/university grade point average, and must be committed to teaching in any of the grades, pre-school through high school.

Application forms are accessible through the ESEYC website— ; or by contacting the ESEYC office at 928-442-5139. All applications must be received by no later than midnight March 30, 2012.

Robert St. Clair, board President, said that in 2011, the ESEYC gave $18,000 to qualified applicants. In addition, the ESEYC will administer an additional $1,500 scholarship funded by the Prescott Sunrise Lions Club. That scholarship is intended for a prospective teacher who meets at least one of these criteria: has a visual or auditory handicap; or will be teaching students who have visual, auditory or physical handicaps.

St. Clair said, “These scholarships fulfill the mission of this foundation created in 2001 by Gladys Gardner, a former teacher who later served in the Arizona State Legislature and as a Yavapai County Supervisor. Over the years, the foundation has awarded more than $150,000 in scholarships.”

During other January ESEYC board action, the following persons were elected as officers for the 2012 year: President—Robert St. Clair, Prescott Valley; Vice President, Cory Gardner, Prescott; Secretary, Tim Carter, Prescott; and Treasurer, Ray Newton, Prescott.

Other board members include Danny Brown, LeAnne Lawhead, Lisa Mauldin, and Bob Williams, all of Prescott, and Ron Minnich of Chino Valley. Founder Gladys Gardner is an ex officio board member.